The Foundation for Agriculture announces the 15th “Book of the Year”


the United States Agricultural Bureau of Agriculture Foundation bestowed its 15th “Book of the Year” award on author Kiki Thorpe for “How to grow a monster. “The award was presented to the American Farm Bureau Federation 103rd congress.

“How to Grow a Monster” explores the theme of designer gardening and includes a gardening-related activity for young designers to try out for themselves. Drawing inspiration from the Popular Creators Movement (hands-on learning), the book is part of a series of fun, easy-to-read stories that focus on problem-solving and hands-on action.

Thorpe has written over 40 books for young readers. She is the New York Times bestselling author of “The Never Girls” chapter series, which has been published in 25 countries. Thorpe grew up in Boise, Idaho, and finds inspiration for many of his stories in memories of his childhood there. She lives with her family in Colorado.

“It is a great honor that my book is recognized by the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture. I hope “How to Grow a Monster” inspires young readers to try growing their own food, ”Thorpe said.

The “Book of the Year” award stems from the Foundation’s effort to identify “Accurate Farm Books,” a collection of nearly 500 books for children, adolescents and adults that accurately cover agricultural topics. The book of the year selections are educational, help create positive public perceptions of agriculture, inspire readers to learn more and touch the lives of their readers, as well as tell the story of the world. ‘farmer. The Accurate Ag Books database is available at

To support “How to make a monster grow”, the Foundation has created a educator’s guide (available January 10).

Financial support from the Foundation
Several state agricultural offices were recognized at the convention for their exemplary financial support to the Foundation.

The State Farm Bureaus receiving the Scholar Award are Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The Scholar Award is presented to the six state agricultural offices with the highest total donations to the Foundation among their member groups.

Twenty-two state agricultural offices qualified for an Apex Award: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island , Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. The Apex Award is given to state agricultural offices that have increased their total contributions to the Foundation by 10% or more from the previous year.

Thirty-one state agricultural offices qualified for the Leader Award: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. State Farm Bureaus are recognized with a Leader Award when each member of their board of directors donates at least $ 50 to the Foundation.


Mike tomko
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3642
[email protected]

Bailey Corwine
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643
[email protected]

Back to the press room


Comments are closed.