Eight to earn a spot in the Augustana Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022

In addition to the eight inductees, two teams are honored and three additional awards are given. The 2010-11 The Augustana wrestling team that won the NSIC and the 2010 The Viking women’s tennis team that started the current streak of 12 straight NSIC championships will be the honored teams.

Ole Odney Alumni Coach of the Year is Robin Baker. The 1989 Augustana graduate is currently an assistant athletic director at the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire. She was a four-year starter for the Viking softball team and later served as the head volleyball and softball coach at Wartburg College. She led both programs to NCAA Tournament berths for the first time in program history. While at UW-Eau Claire, she helped the Blugolds win the 2008 NCAA Division II National Championship. She also continued to serve on the NCAA Regional Volleyball and Softball Advisory Committees and served as Chair of the National NCAA Division II softball.

The recipient of the Lefty Olson Lifetime Service and Achievement Award is Carl Gonder. A native of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Gonder attended Augustana from 1980 to 1984 and earned All-NCC honors in 1983 and 1984. He finished his playing career with 1,830 points and 845 rebounds. He was inducted into the Augustana Athletics Hall of Fame in 2000. He won the Lefty Olson Award for a career that spanned professional basketball (France, England and Australia), broadcaster and writer athlete, the regional director for the Eastern Iowa Fellowship of Christian Athletes and director of fund development for Four Oaks Family and Children Services in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Award recipients Milt and Clara Harvey are cited for their outstanding contributions of time, service and financial support to Augustana Athletics. This year’s recipients are Bob and Trish Swanhorst. Bob, a 1961 Augustana graduate, and his wife Trish pledged a $1 million donation for student-athlete scholarships, as announced in October 2020. Longtime Augustana A-Club members , the Swanhorsts have many years of dedicated service to Augustana, including Trish serving on the Augustana Library Associates Board of Trustees and Bon on the Augustana Academy of Seniors Board of Trustees.

Comments are closed.